Fallen! I feel I can’t get up

emmert-u1-ad19271
Psalm 6
 Remember that old television commercial for the medilert tag, “I’ve fallen and can’t get up” it’s been the coffee room joke now for many years. What about the time you walked by the mirror and asked that question what has happened and who are you? I can honestly say I have. I can still hear momma saying go get that switch and go to your room. It’s then we cry out please, please I promise I won’t. It’s at that time as we peer at the reflection, thinking about the many tears we’ve cried, sorry for the hypocritical life we’ve lead. We ask our Father crying out please, please “rebuke me not in your anger” I won’t do it again please be gracious to me O Lord for I am languishing. Like David, we find ourselves hard pressed, fallen, and feel we can’t get up it’s then we recognize where we are and ask for forgiveness.
“Turn, O LORD, deliver my life; save me for the sake of you steadfast love. For in death there is no remembrance of you; in Sheol who will give you praise?
I am weary with my moaning; every night I flood my bed with tears; I drench my couch with my weeping. My eye wastes away because of grief; it grows weak because of all my foes.
Depart from me, all you workers of evil, for the LORD has heard the sound of my weeping. The LORD has heard my plea; the LORD accepts my prayer.”
Malcom Muggeridge wrote; Contrary to what might be expected, I look back on experiences that at the time seemed especially desolating and painful with particular satisfaction. Indeed, I can say with complete truthfulness that everything I have learned in my seventy-five years in this world, everything that has truly enhanced and enlightened my existence, has been through affliction and not through happiness. In other words, if it ever were to be possible to eliminate affliction from our earthly existence by means of some drug or other medical mumbo jumbo, as Huxley envisaged in “Brave New World”, the result would not be to make life delectable, but to make it too banal and trivial to be endurable. This, of course, is what the Cross signifies. And it is the Cross, more than anything else, that has called me inexorably to Christ.
“More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.” Romans 5:3-5
D John
Leave a Reply

