Searchin

Today I went a -searchin’

For my soul was in despair.

Today I searched in places

That I did not know were there.

I’ve searched my brain for learning.

Many facts I now control;

But there’s an empty feeling-

I hadn’t satisfied my soul.

I’ve searched the far horizons,

Their wonders do I extol;

And still I had the feeling-

I hadn’t satisfied my soul.

I’ve searched in many places

And I’ve played a savant’s role.

Yet I still had the feeling-

These hadn’t satisfied my soul.

Today when I went searchin’,

I found my ultimate goal;

Today I searched the places

That hid deep inside my soul.

“Carl Lee Richards”

Leave a Reply

